Over the years, millions of people have lost trust in Facebook due to scandals relating to privacy, misinformation, and tax practices.
In case you are one of them or if you are simply done with Facebook, here’s how to delete your Facebook account permanently.
After your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added, therefore before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (e.g. your photos and posts) from Facebook, as well as a copy of your Oculus information if you use your Facebook account to log in to Oculus.
How to delete Facebook account permanently
- From your main profile, click account in the top right of Facebook.
- Select Settings & privacy, then click Settings.
- Click Your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a page in the new Pages experience: Click Privacy, then click Your Facebook information.
- Click Deactivation and deletion.
- Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to account deletion.
- Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.
You can still cancel your account deletion within less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted, however, after 30 days, your account and all of your information will be permanently deleted, and become irretrievable.